Ecstazine in Messy Mass

October started with my birthday and a trip to Massachusetts for my very first zine fest!

I just came back a couple of days ago and while I’m still struggling with jet lag, I thought I’ll write an entry about this awesome experience.

First, the flight there was much better than expected. My friend and her husband waited for me at the airport and it was so awesome to finally meet them in person! So you see, not everyone you meet online are total scammers and trolls and criminals. Every once in a while, you fall on someone who really is a kickass zinester.DSC03394

I spent my nine-day vacation at her place with her crazy dog and her big fuzzy cat, mostly making art, buttons and patches and getting ready for the zine fest.

We also toured Salem a bit, checking out some of the Haunted Happenings that Salem is known for around the month of October.

We went to check out Hawthorne’s House of Seven Gables. We checked out the Salem Witch Museum. We also went to this enormous art shop where we bought some things for the zine fest. That store was so big and so cool, I almost got lost there.

We also went to see a movie/documentary about the Salem witch hunt of 1692. That movie turned out to be a flop, which is odd, because I think it takes real talent to make a BORING movie about witches. Seriously.

The highlight of the Haunted Happenings was undoubtedly the Texas Chainsaw Musical. Yes, you read it right, Musical! My friend managed to score tickets in the front row known as the “splatter zone”. So the musical, which was funny as hell, and far more entertaining than that movie mentioned above, also left us with a bit of bloody stains here and there. We were wearing plastic ponchos, but this didn’t help people who were in the center of the front row because they really got drenched. If you’re currently around Lynn, this show is running until October 31, so you should totally score tickets to that! Highly recommended!

DSC03391Another Salem highlight was getting my new tattoo, based on Stephen King’s The Dark Tower, which I have been planning for about two or three years. My friend’s husband works at Salem Ink and he tortured me for two consecutive days, for five hours every day, and I came out of there in pain but still a happy camper because I now have a totally kickass half sleeve on my right arm. I don’t have a photo of it yet because it’s still peeling and I want to shoot it only once it’s completely healed. But trust me, it’s gorgeous, worth every penny out of the $1000 it cost!

The Boston Zine Fest took place on the last two days of my trip. The first day consisted of a marble-paper-making workshop, a panel about zines as a means of resistance, and a zine-reading. The day started out ok, but slowly, I started feeling a headache coming on, followed by what felt like fever. I had been on a sneezing-and-runny-nose fit for the previous couple of days, but I didn’t think it was anything more than allergies. Turned out I was wrong, and ended up suffering for what felt like an eternity on the first day of the fest. And I was totally bummed out because I was really looking forward to it.

Before heading back to Salem, I bought a pack of cold and flu medication so I could at least have it with me on the second day when I would be tabling and needed to keep somewhat of a healthy demeanor.

The second day was a blast! It was so refreshing to be in a place with a bunch of people who love the same things you do and create the same things you create and who don’t look at you with a questioning expression every time you say the word “zine”.

12095300_855130887916017_9189003167126566748_oThe zine fest was also pretty elaborate. Aside from the tabling, there was also a screen printing workshop. I got to print the BZF logo on a canvas tote bag and on one of my new tank tops. There was also a photobooth set up for zinesters to take pictures. I sold more stuff than I expected, and traded a shitload more. I now have a huge stack of zines to read and be inspired by all over again.

I will definitely write a zine about this experience which was by far the best zine-related experience I ever had!

I really hope that at some point, the zine scene in Israel will take shape and sizable proportions and perhaps, there will be an awesome zine fest in Israel too! That will so rule.

For now, as hazardous as Jerusalem is these days, I am so happy to be back home. I missed my husband, my dog, my family, my daily routine… And the entire time I was in Salem, I was itching to play guitar, but didn’t have one. So I also missed Melissa, my new Fender Strat, which I love to little pieces!

Peace, love and more shredding coming up!

Leave a Reply

