Zine Gems

Whenever I come across a great zine, I get inspired to produce more zines. And since a big part of zinestering is trading and sharing, please allow me to recommend the amazing zines I recently got/traded so that you may also be inspired!

SHEcho Publications
Nina (aka Zina) makes a slew of amazing zines and comics through her indie publication project Echo. I contacted her one day when I was looking for a new zinester to make a split zine with during International Zine Month. Since she has already found another zinester for the project, she suggested we trade zines and later on maybe a split-zine will work out. I picked some of the zines from her website and she sent me those and many more! She writes a pretty awesome zine called Different Heartbeats about feminism, punk shows, zine fests, DIY projects, and more. She also wrote a comics for International Zine Month called Scissors & Chainsaws. You know that “bonus points” section on the IZM activities list, the part that says make a comic every day and make it into a comics zine at the end of the month? Well, she did it! Scissors & Chainsaws details Nina’s activities all throughout the month of July all in comics form. I recently wrote her an email telling her that I wish I had half of her skills in comics, and that her art simply inspires me to try and create more of my own. Amazing talent, great sense of humor, endless inspiration, a feast for the eyes, and pure fun! I highly highly recommend you check it out!

PMS 9 - cover 2Zines by Nyxia
As if I WASN’T going to write about my zine crush and my best penpal friend! Nyxia Grey is the shiznit, and if you haven’t read any of her zines yet, you really should. Her perzine Everything.Is.Fine is mainly about feminism and eating disorders, but she writes a bunch of other zines as well and also makes her own feminist art – bookmarks, pins, amazing collages… I recently read her special 24-Hour Zine issue about the elbow injury she suffered and all the subsequent hardships she went through this past summer. Nyxia is a great writer. She manages to make the reader feel the pain that comes across so clearly and bluntly in her prose. As someone who suffered an elbow injury as well, I was amazed by how eloquently she described everything that I have also felt when I got injured and all though my healing process. I found myself nodding briskly in absolute agreement with everything she wrote. Other zines she wrote include the split-zine she made with me – Boo’ya Moon – about our mutual favorite author, Stephen King; Did That Hurt? a special zine about tattoo safety; Rad Rag – Your Flow Is Fly! about the period (Nyxia’s best seller in zine fests); Cure Huntington’s Disease – a special zine about the genetic condition (all profits made from this issue are donated to Kindred Laurel Lake, a nursing and rehabilitation center in Lee, Massachusetts that helps those with Huntington’s Disease); and a whole lot of other amazing stuff! Check out her Etsy shop and see if you don’t leave with a packed cart!

Twigz and DeadbeatSquimoo
aka Beth, makes a rad comics called The Deadbeats. During International Zine Month, we traded zines, and as I already wrote in one of my We Make Zines blogs, I was sitting at the office and thought I’d flip through the zine she sent me for a couple of minutes. I ended up reading the whole thing in one sitting. Her comics feature short one-liners that are cheeky, funny and sarcastic all at once. The issue she sent me (her first one actually) also featured a page where I could draw myself or my own comics character next to one of her deadbeats, so of course, I drew Twigz. I loved it so much and wrote her an enthusiastic message asking when I can expect the second issue of it! I don’t know if any of the readers of this blog are into comics zines, but if you’re looking into some sweet ones, The Deadbeats is a great one to start with!
So now that I read all these awesome zines, I am beyond inspired and have been working on a new split-zine with Nyxia all though this past week. Once this one is done, I have about half a dozen other ideas for future zines lined up, and I can’t wait to start on them all!

Peace, love and oh yeah, you should check out my zines too, they’re not half bad 😉

One thought on “Zine Gems

  1. hey . . . i stumbled upon you on the web. I’ve traded a lot of zines with people around the world but never one with a person from Jerusalem. would you like to trade . . .
    i put out wiseblood . . .
    i been putting it out since 1984 . . . 63 issues!
    i like what you are doing though . . . great website.
    cheers to ya
    fishspit

Leave a Reply

