More About My Favorite Month

This International Zine Month is fun as shit.

I traded and bought some pretty awesome zines so far. Usually whenever I buy or trade zines, it’s always a gamble because I never know if the zines I get will be any good. Sometimes I end up with zines that aren’t all that good, but I feel bad throwing them out so they just end up cluttering my zine collection.

But this month, so far, all the zines I got in my mailbox were gems and I was so excited to read them all.

I’m still waiting on a few packages and will also be sending some out tomorrow. It’s a busy month for the post office!

Plus, I completed my 24-Hour Zine Thing and will be working on yet another zine this Friday afternoon and next Monday night. I’m meeting up with friends and having a crafternoon/art night that is long-overdue. So the Friday crafternoon (July 24) will be the small quasi-zine event that was originally intended for the 25th. I need to remember to bring my camera.

Speaking of cameras, I am also planning what I call a “silent zine”. It will include photos, drawings, comics and collages, but no words. Well, there will be some words, like the titles of the photos/artwork, the name of the zine on the cover, a table of contents and a contact page at the back. But the rest of the pages will be full of visual art as opposed to verbal art. Thus, silent zine.

I am so fucking excited for that issue!! I’ve never done anything like this before. Maybe this could be the new zine skill I’ll be teaching myself this month?

Peace, love and more letter-writing tonight!

Leave a Reply

