A Greater Gratitude

Some time ago, I had a back and forth comment discussion with my cousin on Facebook.

He posted a status about how people should stop “blessing God” when they’re asked how they are doing. He said they should “bless the bus that took you to work, the truck that didn’t run you over, the army protecting you and your safety…”

I commented on that status saying “The way I see it, blessing the Divinity includes all these things and more, at once. It’s just a simpler, shorter way of an all-inclusive, all-encompassing gratitude, all the while acknowledging the little things as well as the greater ones, the known and the unknown, the beauty and the less, the light and the dark, body, mind and spirit.”

He answered saying that you can’t thank something that cannot be proven and which does not exist.

It got me thinking about how the word “God” fell victim to a material world and to a specie that looks to the empirical senses to explain everything in it.

I explained that there are things in this world that are explained differently by different elements because every aspect of it is a small portion of the truth. And what is truth if not a subjective perception of reality? It’s like the stories of the five blind men and the elephant. Every part of the elephant that each one of the men felt is only a portion of the full thing.

So we see, hear, smell, touch, and taste certain things that other beings can or can’t. And there are other beings that can see, smell, hear, touch and taste certain things beyond what we can.

Belief in the Divine is often viewed by non-believers as stupid or as something that is imaginary. They say that believers are trying to convince non-believers that a red shirt is actually green. But belief is also a subjective perception of reality. Sometimes, belief is all the proof you need. Even if it’s something that does not make sense to others.

Besides, I think that every person in this world believes in something. Even non-believers who say that religious folks made up this “God” because they’re too scared to face this world on their own. They’re too scared of life and too scared of death. But the way I see it, every person believes in one thing or another, whether it’s Divine or not.

Some people believe in money, some believe in fame, some believe in the media, some believe in medicine, drugs, love, sex, hard sciences, anything. I bet my cousin believes in music. Music is his god because for him, it transcends the empirical senses. He doesn’t only listen to music and he doesn’t only play it. He feels it, he lives it and breathes it. If he only played it and listened to it for the sole empirical purpose, it would be devoid of any meaning and any deep significance it has for him.

I also believe in music, and I also believe in art. My friend Casey once said that making art is a prayer to the Goddess. And I couldn’t think of a better way to say it. It rings so true for me. When I listen to music, when I write, when I draw, when I craft and cut and paste, I feel like I’m in another world, the next world, the spirit world, a world that only I can feel because I believe in it. And though art and music are essentially material things, created by artistic material or musical instruments, believing in them and using them to connect to this other world is what gives them their divinity. It is what makes water into holy water. It is what makes an imaginary thing into the truth. What makes a fantasy into a reality. Simple belief. What we all have.

I also told my cousin that since I view this material world as limiting, I don’t like to limit myself to a single reality. I believe there is something beyond that. I feel it. I don’t need to prove it to myself or anyone because I feel it. In fact, if I could prove it empirically, it would reduce its power and would take away from its divine potential. It’s the exact opposite of making the material into divine. It’s trying to make the divine into the material and thus reducing from its transcendence and its ethereal value.

Do I need to prove to my cousin that drawing this drawing or painting this painting made me feel like I’m in another world? No, because I bet he feels the same when he creates his music. So why do I need to prove to him that the Goddess exists? Just because he doesn’t believe in Her, doesn’t mean She’s not real to me. Because She is. I feel Her. I believe in Her. I worship Her with every work of art I make and with every chord I strum.

I bless Her because She blessed me with the power of creation. And that’s greater than anything I need to be grateful for.

Peace, love and the Presence

Leave a Reply

