Band-Aid for My Bleeding Ears

While I was walking around in Rome on a particularly rainy day, I kept thinking I should probably take my mp3 player out of the little pocket of my backpack and bury it somewhere deep inside backpack-proper to keep it from getting wet. But being lazy and thinking “meh, it’ll be fine,” I left it where it was and sure enough, it got soaked and broke.

Again.

The first time happened here. And then it happened again here.

So since I already got used to having my mp3 player break and replacing it every Monday and Thursday, I was surprisingly nonchalant this time around. However, I was on the train with my boyfriend on my way back to Be’er Sheva from the airport when I craved music again. I tried the broken mp3 player again, but it was still dead.

At first, I thought I could handle it. But then, some guy on the train found it appropriate to blast Middle Eastern music, and some kid wouldn’t stop screaming bloody murder. My poor ears were being ripped to shreds, and I started mourning Kathy, when finally my boyfriend took one look at my horrified expression, and lent me his player for a while.

“Here,” he said. “You need this more than me.”

I turned the player to Arafel, and when the riffs exploded through the earphones, I breathed a loud, heavy sigh of relief and sloped down on my seat.

At least that’s one good thing to come out from my boyfriend’s Smartphone, I thought about the useless digital maps on the device that led us nowhere back in Italy, and shuddered.

Once we were back in Jerusalem, my boyfriend gave me the iPod he no longer uses since he got that chip for his Smartphone with like a zigabite worth of space or something.

I spent a good amount of time deleting a bunch of bands I don’t really care for (mainly Tool, Dream Theater, Slipknot and a few others) and added a bunch that my boyfriend doesn’t really care for but that I do (stuff like Michael Jackson, Funset, Lunachicks, etc.). All those mixed in with the bands we both enjoy (Arch Enemy, King Diamond/Mercyful Fate, Deicide, Arafel, Nirvana, Amon Amarth, Death, Carcass and loads of others) makes for one mean Badass-friendly playlist.

I never thought the day would come, but here I am now, an owner of an iPod.

Me. With an iPod.

Me. Who loves typewriters, audio cassettes, and VCRs. And who hates modern technology as much as I hate Middle Eastern music.

Now became Me. Who owns an iPod.

I must admit though, I love it! The playlist is great, and sometimes surprising because it includes more songs than I’ve had before. So sometimes I fall on a song of Rammstein I’ve never heard before and realize that it’s totally awesome. Same goes for Disturbed, Amon Amarth and Slash. With a little over 1000 songs in my new player, I brace myself for a nice little auditory rollercoaster every time I plug in my earphones.

Peace, love and Music is definitely still the Pulse.

Leave a Reply

