IZM – Day 3: Zine Distro Appreciation Day

Yesterday was Zine Distro Appreciation Day, and I haven’t written anything about it on my blog for reasons I will detail in a minute.

That day was supposed to be the day I will order a zine from a distro (and I did) but I also combined it with the activity set for July 18, i.e. order from a distro that I don’t usually order from. So I browsed the Stolen Sharpie Revolution site for various zine distros. Many seemed great but the problem was the prices for the zines and the shipping to Israel. Anytime I found an interesting zine, the price would be over $4.00 and the shipping was approximately $5.00.

Seriously? Over $9.00 for one zine? That must be one fuck of a good zine!

Anyway, I finally ordered a zine called Orange & Blue from Bottleson Thesill Distro. I’m not sure what the total price of the order will be, but at least I got the activity done.

Yesterday, I woke up at 3:30 a.m. because I had to pee like a motherfucker. And although I was tired beyond my wits, I couldn’t fall back asleep. I finally got up at 5:30 and got ready to go to Hadassah Hospital for my follow-up about my elbow. Remember, I had that fracture and the subsequent surgery and the metal implant which make my x-rays look like Terminator? Right, so I got the freaking awesome news that it’s finally over. My ulna has mended, thanks in no small part to the homeopathic treatment I’ve been taking. I have one more checkup in October with the doctors who operated on me and I’ll set a date for the surgery to remove the plate sometime around December.

Despite the great news (and the fact that it was delivered by the most amazing doctor ever, who liked my tattoos, said that playing guitar is the best physical therapy I can get, and that smoking weed once in a while is actually a good thing!) I was a freaking zombie by 11:00 a.m. that day. When I got to the office, I couldn’t concentrate on anything. Looking through zine distros made my head spin, and even reading Stephen King (Under the Dome) made me fall asleep. So I thought that maybe I’ll just continue once I get home.

But no such luck. My boyfriend’s family invited us for dinner at this fancy (very unkosher) restaurant. I had just enough time to shower and get dressed.

The food was great (shivers and gags caused by “crabs and shellfish” on the menu notwithstanding), but we made it home only at 22:00. We watched an episode of Modern Family and 6teen, and then I crashed like a plane on the barrier of the Dome. I woke up again at 3:30, but this time I managed to fall back asleep until my alarm rang at 10:30.

Yes, I slept for close to 12 hours. Hopefully that will be enough to keep me alive and alert for the stuff I have planned for tonight: Take my dog out to the park, re-read my favorite zines, and continue Under the Dome. My boyfriend also wants to go to a gig at Uganda Bar. I don’t know if I’m really up for getting dressed up, taking the bus (because the boy wants to drink), go to this heavily left-wing bar, stay sitting outside because I can’t stand the music any more than I can stand the cig smoke that will be stuffing up the place, freeze to death, and finally take a taxi back home because the busses are no longer running at that time.

So I think I’d rather stay home with my zines and my dog and Stephen King.

Peace, love and chocolate souffle. Just because.

Leave a Reply

