DIY Month – Day 15: Journal Entry

Every form of writing for me is a form of art. One of my goals with this DIY Month is to explore these various forms of writing: Zine writing, poetry, fiction writing, letter writing, songwriting, novel writing, and constant blog writing. Soon, I will also be writing a text for spoken word. And last night, I also wrote a journal entry.

I’ve been keeping a diary ever since I could write. I still have a tiny pocket-size notebook I used as a diary when I was six. The writing is crooked and riddled with spelling mistakes, as a six-year-old kid’s writing ought to be. And I have several other diaries I kept in later years (I wrote an extensive blog on my diaries a while ago. Click here to read it if you’re interested).

Here is the journal entry I wrote last night:

December 15, 2012

It’s Saturday night. I’m tired. I haven’t slept much this weekend. I spent most of my day today recording that song I wrote. I’m not sure how I feel about it. All I know is that I feel accomplished. I always get a sense of accomplishment when I make something of myself. There’s something magical with the act of creation. No matter how mediocre the creation is (or how mediocre you think it is), the sense of accomplishment is always the same.
I really love this DIY month idea. What’s great about the activities I listed is that I can make them as easy or as complex as I want. It can take a little or as long time as I want. So it doesn’t matter if I have time to do these activities or not, I can always make time.
So basically, so far this month, I noticed that thanks to these activities, my days are filled to the rim, and the sense of accomplishment is grand!
I think that by the end of this month, I would have made or created more works of art than I have for the past three or four years.
I’m really excited for the end result. Maybe I’ll put all the stuff I made together, lay it out on the table and take a picture of it all. I think it would look super and I could see for myself just how much one person can do in a single month.
I also have International Zine Month to look forward to in July. That would also be a major challenge for me, but that only makes me more excited for it. And also another shot at a 24-hour zine.
Dude, can’t wait!

Journal Entry

Peace, love and fucking art night tonight! BRING IT ON!!!

Leave a Reply

