Let There Be Religion

Today, I want to write about religion. I was going to write about this yesterday, but I got carried away with my plans for the Mistress Distress CD design, and then I had a discussion about religion with my friend from Germany, so basically, I had no time and no real need for it…

But now, it’s back. And I feel it needs to be said.

I have a lot of atheist Facebook friends, and I keep coming across posts about how religion sucks because it forces you to believe in something that cannot be seen or proven and makes you feel sorry for being human.

Although I respect atheists, I think that their view of religion is, well, fucked. It’s not entirely their fault, because the way they interpret religion is by looking at the people who behave like animals and who say they do so in the name of God. It’s absurd to judge religion according to what people do in the name of it. People tend to fuck shit up. Religion is there as a way to point them in the right direction. Whether they choose to follow it accordingly, or tear it to shreds and still call themselves religious is up to them. Religion doesn’t force anything on anybody. It’s people who do.

Now, I can’t really speak for other religions, but as Jew, I view my religion as “adjustable.” That is, I can make it fit my version of reality and my version of the Divinity. I follow the laws that make sense to me and make me feel good, and ignore the ones that don’t.

As for the Divine Entity, I view it as a force that is beyond this world. It can’t be seen for the same reasons that feelings cannot be seen. They can only be felt. And if you feel it stirring inside your ribcage, that’s all the proof you need. This is how I make sense of it.

I think I mentioned it in a previous blog, but it’s worth reiterating. Anybody who ever had a dog knows that sometimes, at one moment the canine would be sprawled on the floor, and the next, it would lift its head, perk up its ears and stare at the ceiling as if hearing an interesting sound. The owner of the dog may not hear it, but the dog does because his senses are much sharper than humans. While some people say that our empirical senses are the best way to understand this world, I think it’s the only way we can understand this world. Our senses are very limited. So just because we can’t hear something or see something, it doesn’t mean it’s not there.

Another thing. For the love of everything, please stop saying that if religion didn’t exist, there would be no wars! That is the absolute most ridiculous statement I have EVER heard. People are the cause of wars, not religion. That’s like saying that guns are the cause of all violence, and that if all guns were destroyed, there would be no more deaths. That’s a crock of shit. People are violent by their very nature. And if religion didn’t exist, they would find a dozen other things to kill each other over – politics, money, sex, territory, health, food, you name it.

It’s like that episode of South Park where Cartman travels through time and reaches a world where religion didn’t exist and everyone believed in science. Yet there was still a war between the different factions of atheists about what they should call themselves. Then he reaches another time where all “isms” no longer existed. Yet there was still a war raging with the Chinese Russians who claimed they own Hawaii, or something.

I think if anything, religion can bring peace, if people only practiced it properly and quit thinking that their way is the only way. Atheism may still exist, and that’s perfectly fine as long as the people who refer to themselves as such do not blame religious fanaticism for it. Just like truth is a subjective perception of reality, belief is a subjective perception of religion. The real atheists, I believe, are atheists simply because they feel religion is not their way of life. And then they won’t post offensive shit on my Facebook saying that I’m stupid for being a believer, and instead, they would put up posts about mutual respect between different faiths and beliefs.

Peace, love and Mother Goddess.

3 thoughts on “Let There Be Religion

  1. Yes, that would be a separate blog altogether because I can write volumes about it. For now, I’ll just say that nobody, and I mean absolutely no one, in the Jewish religion practices all the commandments that are mentioned in the Torah. I mean, seriously there are 613 commandments in that book. You can’t expect anyone to keep them all, can you? In any case, I see the sense in the Ten Commandments. Don’t kill, don’t steal, don’t covet, respect your folks… these make sense to me. So does the Sages’ saying: “Being a good person is more important than the Torah.” That makes sense to me. Also, there are three commandments that are intended solely for women: Lighting the Sabbath candles; not having sex during the period; and allocating a part of the dough for sacrifice while baking bread. These are mostly for married women, but I keep them anyway, because they make me feel good. I love lighting candles, Sabbath or not. I hate any form of sexual contact during my period, so I keep away from it. And I’ve never baked anything but cakes, but I’m sure that if I were to bake bread one day, it’ll actually be cool to allocate a small piece of the dough for sacrifice and burn it. The sense in these practices is that if it makes me feel good and it doesn’t hurt anyone else, I say why not do it?
    But there are parts of the religion that I don’t agree with, or make me feel bad, or hurts others. The whole homophobic part of the religion is something I am vehemently against, for example. Dressing modestly, not getting tattoos, not having premarital sex, not turning on the light during the Sabbath… all these things I find are totally pointless. In fact, I’ve said before that getting a tattoo makes me feel closer to the Divine Force, so why is that forbidden? Same thing with having sex. The only thing the Torah says about keeping the Sabbath is not working and not making fire. There’s nothing there about electricity (because anyway, it didn’t exist back then). And dressing modestly is something the ultra orthodox made up as a way of supressing women.
    And Jason, if that still doesn’t make sense to you, that’s ok. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, and that’s just my take on it. It does make sense to me, and that’s all I need.
    I think that’s enough for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

