COCK-tail party

So my last three days were complete and absolute shit.

It all started on Monday when I got a phone-call from some company that I sent my CV to (for some reason… I don’t remember, maybe in a stroke of desperation). The secretary said she has three openings – sales, management and some other shit I don’t remember. So I was almost sure I was speaking to a manager of some store, so I said great!

I went in the next day to find out that it wasn’t a store but an office. So I said, ok, so I’ll work in an office from nine to five and get paid something around 10, 11, 12 bucks an hour.

The next day (yesterday), I went on an observation, basically to observe an employee of the company doing his job. Turns out, I have to go outside, selling shit door to door. I said, you know what, it’s going to be a schlep, but hell, if they can do it, I can do it. At the end of that day, the boss tells me that my training will be paid and that by the end of every day, I’ll be making 100 bucks. So, of course, I replied with great enthusiasm.

Today was my first day on the field. My day started at 7 a.m. and ended at 6:45 p.m. I sold more than I expected (because I basically expected to sell nothing), but I had a lot of help from the guy I was with on the field. I brought in 392 bucks dude, but guess what; I had to be left with only 20 percent of that. So basically, I busted my ass out there for 12 hours, freezing my goddamn fucking sucker ass off, to end up with 70 bucks…

First of all, when I’m being told that I will be making 100 bucks, I expect it to be 100 bucks – not 70, not 80, not 90, not 99 – a 100.

Second, when I have to work 12 hours a day, my body shuts down halfway through, because for me, it’s not humanly possible to work for that long without having a decent lunch break. And if you know me, you also know that with my body mass, I can’t possibly afford skipping meals.

Finally, I never ever work at the expense of my health. So being outside freezing my ass off, risking getting pneumonia, carrying around a heavy shitload that can damage my back on the long run, and skipping meals is not worth 70 bucks.

Besides all that, expenses are not covered. I even had to cover half the cost of the fuel for the car of the guy that went with me.

Don’t get me wrong. The guys that work there are really nice, funny, amusing, enthusiastic and everything. But at the end of the day I feel used. And, besides that, the people that work there are all dudes. It’s a fucking cock party! There isn’t the shadow of pussy… well maybe except for the secretary but she’s in the office the whole goddamn day, never in the field.

So fuck that. Tomorrow, I’m quitting. At first, I wanted to make an effort especially for my parents to be proud of me, but I also have this thing called self-respect. Nobody can affect that.

Peace, love and hurray for minimum wages!

One thought on “COCK-tail party

  1. First off I gotta say\’YAY for the guerilla grrrrls!\’I love them off!!! they rock my sox off… ;)I wanna cover the whole city in their logos….be a better place, if you ask me.as for this crappy job that has seem to have found you: sounds like canvasing or door to door shit-whatever…the kind of job where they tell you you\’ll get paid so and so amount of money but it never happens cause it\’s usually under the table sort of deal. Yeah…they don\’t care…specially if you\’re a student…all they care about is someone making their money for them…they can take back what they said at any given time cause if it ain\’t written on paper, then it can be subect to change at any time….you likely won\’t be respected at this job so if i were you, i\’d get out and fast!>^..^<~~Honeycat~~

Leave a Reply

