Scary shit!

Last night, I finally managed to go see the Ring Two, but I think I’ll also manage to go to the dog park today. The movie, as I had expected, was not as scary as the first one, although the faces of the dead people were as horrifying. I didn’t have any nightmares though, which, ironically, sucks, because if I have nightmares after watching a scary movie, it’s an indicator that this movie will rank as one of my top favorites (such as Saw and The Ring – the first one – which left me sleepless for at least two nights).

What’s even scarier is what went on this morning. My first class was from 9:15 to 11:30 today, right? So here I am, a week and a half away from graduation (not counting exam time), and both speakers we had in class today (plus the teacher) come talking to us about journalism. In a nutshell, they tell us we have no future. Imagine that! It’s early in the morning, I had the worse night ever because I went to sleep late, I woke up in the middle of the night twice – the first time because there was a dying fly in my room buzzing like there’s no tomorrow (and for that fly there was no tomorrow cuz I killed it), and the second time because my dog was barking at God knows what – I’m this close to leaving this headache I call Concordia, to find out that there’s nothing waiting for me out there besides a series of rejection letters and Kraft Dinners.

Goddammit!!!!! It ruined my entire motherfucking day! I wish I could go back there and shoot all these assholes in the head, the only problem is that I may have a problem finding where their head is. What’s even worse is that they’re probably right. At least one of them, because he’s been in the business longer. But, dammit, so have I. I’ve had my share of shitty editors. But I’ve also had my share of really nice editors, and from what these asshole speakers told us, there is no such thing as a nice editor and the only way we’ll make a living is by not being a journalist.

The first speaker litterally started off by asking for a show of hands of how many of us want to go off to do some writing/reporting, and then told us, "alright, now that we’ve established what your hobby is, let’s see what you wanna do for a living."

This is definitely the last thing I wanted to hear this morning. Man, I could sure as hell use a blunt right now…

Peace, love, and weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeedddd!

One thought on “Scary shit!

Leave a Reply

